Backpackers Of Africa
     [More info.] | [Write a review] | [Send to printer] | [Close window]

[View HI reviews] | [View LO reviews]
 Value for Money  3.4
 Rooms  3.5
 Cleanliness  4.0
 Location  4.2
 Security & Safety  3.6
 Service & Staff  3.2
 Food / Dining  4.0
 Total  3.4

"Review"

User Rating:  1.7
Reviewer:   Cha L. of Fourways, South Africa
Reviewed:   January 4, 2014  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   January 2014     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place has not changed. bad service. There are roaches all over the floors. And the managers steal money from the owner by not telling him when rooms are booked.

"utterly disgusted"

User Rating:  1.0
Reviewer:   Chantel V. of alberton, South Africa
Reviewed:   September 23, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   September 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
Its filthy, none of the bathrooms are clean, I think
you'll actually pick up a few diseases if you have to use it. The rooms are terrible, and I got the wrong room.
The manager_ or who I confused with a cleaner, so unprofessional did she
look with her torn clothes and no underwear on was disgusting.
I don't even think the Tourism board will approve a place like that, and I
don't only speak about the hygiene in that place.

"Perfect Location"

User Rating:  4.3
Reviewer:   Irene N. of Plumtree, Zimbabwe
Reviewed:   August 10, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   August 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
There is a lot to do and see in this part of Johannesburg.
I found the place very neat and clean and safe.
The staff are great and willing to help you.
If you need a quiet and friendly environment in a great area of Johannesburg then this is the place to stay.

"Clean Quiet Place"

User Rating:  3.3
Reviewer:   Buhle I. of randburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   August 1, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   April 2013     Type:   Youth/Student
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The place is alright. The manager is always around so that helps.
Negatives: lights go on and off.
Only one kitchen and it was full when I was there
Some tenants fight.

Positives: hot water is always available.
The bathrooms are very clean and neat.
Help is always available
Good communication with staff.

"simple"

User Rating:  2.7
Reviewer:   Sithole L. of Durban, South Africa
Reviewed:   August 1, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   May 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The room I stayed in was simple. Basic things. Ther is a huge electricity problem coz the power went on n off a lot. Quiet place. Great location.

"Very safe and clean"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Michelle W. of Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 28, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
I felt very safe at Monte as a lady.
The bathrooms are very clean and the bedding as well.
The staff are friendly and helpful.
Monte Casino is across the road with great night life and restaurants.
Gautrain bus stop to high speed train walking distance.

"WELL SITUATED/SAFE/CLEAN/VALUE FOR MONEY"

User Rating:  4.7
Reviewer:   Johan N. of Hermanus, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 28, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Active/Adventure
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
GREAT LOCATION TO ACCESS MANY OF THE ACTIVITIES IN THE AREA.
CRADLE OF MANKIND, LION PARK, RHINO PARK, LESEDI VILLAGE.
MANY RESTAURANTS IN THE AREA.
SELF CATERING KITCHEN AS WELL
POOL AND GARDEN TO HAVE BRAAI
CLOSE TO GAUTRAIN BUS STOP
VERY CLEAN BEDDING,ROOMS AND BATHROOMS.

THE STAFF ARE GREAT

"Value for money"

User Rating:  4.6
Reviewer:   Juan B. of Margate, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 26, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Single
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
For R 110 per night you have exceptional value.
The place is very clean and neat, bedding washed daily,bathrooms cleaned 3 x a day.
Friendliness of staff excellent.
This is an opinion from someone who comes from a strong hospitality background ie. Hotel Management.
Great location

"Very Basic(Rude Manager)"

User Rating:  2.1
Reviewer:   T T. of Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 24, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
The manager of the place is very rude and disrespectful to tenants. I was there for a choir competition for one night only. The rooms are simple (decent). It's a mission just to get toilet paper in the toilets. The rooms we booked, some of them already had tenants living in them which was odd. everything else was very basic. The only positive thing was that the place is close to the casino wheer there's nice things.

"surprised"

User Rating:  3.2
Reviewer:   P S. of Joburg, South Africa
Reviewed:   July 22, 2013  (see hostel reviews from Instantworldbooking.com)
Traveled:   July 2013     Type:   Other
1 2 3 4 5
 Value for Money
 Rooms
 Cleanliness
 Location
 Security & Safety
 Service & Staff
 Food / Dining
Comments  (English):
So I've been reading the reviews for this place. I'm surprised these things happen. It's all hidden well I guess. I stayed with my husband for a night. It's a quiet place. Nothing special. But the extra costs just to use bathing towels.


1 - 10 of 20 reviews  Next 10 results




BackpackersOfAfrica Links:    Top of page  |   Home  |   Support  |   More Hostel Reviews  |   Write a Hostel Review  |   Suggest Hostels  |   Search Hostels  |   Guest Sign–in  |   Subscribe to Newsletter  |   Unsubscribe
Using our Services:    Terms & Conditions  |   Privacy & Security Policy  |   Work with Us  |   Add Your Hostel  |   Link to Us